You Know Those Blogs…?

May 24, 2010 at 7:58 pm (Thoughts on Life)

Late Night BloggerYou know those really popular blogs that are witty and hysterical…or the ones where the person writes a novel like every day and it begins to feel like you are there with them living their life even though the writer in thousands of miles away. I’ve always wanted to be that blogger. I’ve always dreamed of what it would be like to draw in hundreds of readers with my alter-ego, Jessica Kingsley. Writing about my experiences as a nanny (Nanny Diaries style complete with my boss starring as Mrs. X), about my passionate love affairs (see I have imagination!) and my “Ah-ha” moments as Oprah calls them. I’d love to see comments on how my ramblings had affected someone else or perhaps given them their own “ah-ha” moment. I want to be Carrie fricken Bradshaw damnit! 🙂

This is the third blog that I’ve started. Every time I promise myself that I’m going to write x times per week or month. Every time, I fall short of that…way short. Then I get mad at myself and give up.

I’ve come to realize that this pattern is common throughout many areas of my life. I get a gym membership because the gym is having a special and is down the street from my job. After three or four weeks, I start coming up with every excuse in the free world not to go and spend the next 11 months paying “just $19.99” every month to drive by the building and feel horrible about myself. I see an animal cruelty video and instantly become a vegetarian. I buy vegetarian recipe books and hunt for yummy replacements that cost twice the price of meat at the health food store. I was a strict vegetarian…for two and a half weeks.

So I have decided that enough is enough. I am keeping this blog going but I’m not creating deadline that will set myself up for failure. I will blog when the mood strikes and have a mini-celebration in my head when I do. haha.

Leave a Reply

